The Minnesota Vikings are a Minnesota-based professional American football team. They are a fellow of the American Football Conference (NFC) North division in the National Football League (NFL).

The Minnesota Vikings are named after the historic Scandinavian Vikings, representing Minnesota’s significant Scandinavian American culture.

Over the years, the team has retired some jersey numbers of some outstanding players due to their contributions to the team.  The Minnesota Vikings have retired a total number of six (6) jerseys since its inception.

Below is the list of the various players and the jersey numbers that have been retired.

1. Fran Tankerton, #10

Fran’s jersey number which was retired is the number 10 and the number was retired in 1979.  From 1961 to 1966, he was a member of the Vikings.
Tarkenton completed 3,686 of 6,467 passes for 47,003 yards, 342 touchdowns, and 266 interceptions in his eighteen NFL seasons, which were all NFL records at the time of his retiring. While he resigned, Tarkenton owned NFL career records in throw attempts, completions, yardage, touchdowns, rushing yards by a quarterback, and wins by a starting quarterback with 47,003 yards.

2. Mick Tinglehoff, #53

His professional career with the Vikings spanned from 1962 to 1978 and his jersey number 53 was retired in 2001. He is a fellow of the Nebraska Football Hall of Fame, as well as the Pro Football Hall of Fame, to which he was elected in 2015.
He had played in the second-most straight games (240 games) in NFL history at the time of his departure, trailing only teammate Jim Marshall (270). In 2001, he was enshrined into the Vikings’ Ring of Honor due to his numerous contributions.

3. Jim Marshall, #70

Jim played with the Vikings from 1961 to 1979 and his jersey number 70 was retired in 1999.

He held the career marks for most consecutive starts (270) and games played at the time of his retirement (282). He still maintains the NFL record with most career fumble recoveries (30).

Marshall is a fellow of the team’s Ring of Honor for his outstanding contribution to the team. Marshall was inducted into the Professional Football Researchers Association’s second Hall of Very Good class in 2004.

4. Korey Stringer, #77

Korey played for the Vikings from 1995–2000 and his jersey number which has been retired is 77. His jersey number was retired in 2001.

5. Cris Carter, #80

On November 19, 2001, the Vikings retired his number 77 jersey, which he wore from 1995 to 2000.
he was a stalwart on the offensive line, garnering Pro Bowl honors.

6. Alan Page #88

From 1967 through 1977, he was a Vikings player.
Page was voted AP NFL Defensive Player of the Year and AP NFL Most Valuable Player in 1971, making him the only player to receive both honors.  Ever since the award’s existence, Page has been the first defensive player to win MVP.